Skip to main content

ACSA is a non-profit association of computer security professionals who have a common goal of improving the understanding, theory, and practice of computer security. To this end, ACSA supports a number of activities, all of which serve the goal of improving the computer security field. We also remember colleagues who made significant contributions.


ACSAC logo

ACSAC - Annual Computer Security Applications Conference

ACSAC brings together cutting edge researchers, with a broad cross-section of security professionals drawn from academia, industry, and government, gathered to present and discuss the latest security results and topics.

NSPW logo

NSPW - New Security Paradigms Workshop

NSPW is an invitation-only workshop for researchers focused on work that challenges the dominant approaches and perspectives in computer security. NSPW aims to foster paradigm shifts in information security.

LASER logo

LASER - Learning from Authoritative Security Experiment Results

LASER focuses on learning from and improving cyber security experiment results. The workshop explores both positive and negative experimental results, the latter of which are not often published.

Past Activities

  • Layered Assurance Workshop (LAW)
  • SAC Technology Advocacy Committee (SAC-TAC)
  • Workshop on the Application of Engineering Principles to System Security Design (WAEPSSD)
  • Workshop on Information-Security-System Rating and Ranking (ISSRR)
  • Second International Working Conference on Integrity and Internal Control in Information Systems
  • Workshop on Information Technology Assurance and Trustworthiness (WITAT)


The Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security (SWSIS) is a program initiated by ACSA in 2011 that grants up to $10,000 per scholarship to women studying for their Bachelors and Masters degrees in fields relating to information security. Over $600,000 has been granted to date. The scholarship is administered by ACSA with support from CRA-WP, and has received funding from ACSA, Craig Newmark Philanthropies, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Symantec, and private donors.

SWSIS logo


Daniel Faigin

The Aerospace Corporation
web icon   LinkedIn icon   Twitter icon

Ann Marmor-Squires
Vice President

The Sq Group

Harvey Rubinovitz

The MITRE Corporation

Steve Schwab

USC Information Sciences Institute
LinkedIn icon

Senior Fellows

David Balenson

SRI International
LinkedIn icon

Matt Bishop

University of California, Davis

Gabriela Ciocarlie

The University of Texas at San Antonio

Jeremy Epstein

National Science Foundation*
LinkedIn icon   Twitter icon

Carrie Gates

Bank of America

Charles Payne

Adventium Labs

Sean Peisert

Berkeley Lab and UC Davis
web icon   LinkedIn icon   Twitter icon

Cristina Serban

AT&T Security Research Center (Ret.)

Robert H'obbes' Zakon

Zakon Group LLC
web icon   LinkedIn icon

Former Fellows

Marshall Abrams • Dee Akers • Victoria Ashby • William Bisignani • Ron Gove • Steven J. Greenwald • Robert Kovach • Joel Levy • Louanna Notargiacomo • Steve Rome • Ron Ross • Gary Smith • Frederick Tompkins • Mary Ellen Zurko